ALERT: Your Help Is Needed

Help Defend Measure Z Against State Regulators!

Thursday, February 09, 2017

Note new location:  Pavilion Room, King City Fairgrounds in King City, CA

3:30 pm - 4:00 pm    PMC Press Conference and Rally
4:00 pm - 7pm    DOGGR Public Hearing

BRING HOMEMADE SIGNS like "Defend Z", "The Voters Have Spoken", "Don't Tread on Monterey County", "DemocraZ", "Aqua es Vida", "Z se Puede"... 

WHAT: DOGGR and the State Water Resources Control Board Hearing
WHEN: February 9, 2017 at 4:00 – 7:00 p.m. 
WHERE: Pavilion Room, King City Fairgrounds, 625 Division St., King City, California 93930 

The Division of Oil, Gas, and Geothermal Resources (DOGGR) and the State Water Resources Control Board will hold a hearing to grant permits giving Big Oil new and expanded exemptions for toxic wastewater injection into our Monterey County aquifer AND to obtain immediate US EPA approval of the exemptions by February 15, 2017.

PMC Supporters will carpool to King City to oppose the permits.  Contact Denyse at to join the carpool arrangements.

These pending exemptions include the Lombardi and Aurignac Sands aquifers and cover more than 110 square miles of intended surface operations near San Ardo in Monterey County.


Rebuffing the will of Monterey County voters, California State agencies are protecting Big Oil and not the resources and the citizens of California.

On November 8, 2016 Monterey County voters overwhelmingly passed Measure Z into law with 56% of the vote.  Measure Z amends County land use regulations to limit the disposal of toxic wastewater produced in oil operations by injection into deep groundwater aquifers.  Measure Z prohibits new toxic wastewater injection operations and phases out existing operations over a five year period.  It is absolutely essential to the future health and safety of the people of Monterey County and for protection of our future water supply. Currently, the oil companies dump more than 10.3 million gallons of toxic wastewater into Monterey County groundwater aquifers every day.


BACKGROUND:  Protect Monterey County (PMC), proponent of Measure Z, has made written demands on Governor Brown, John Laird (Secretary of Natural Resources), Kenneth A. Harris, Jr. (DOGGR) and Jonathan Bishop (State Water Resources Control Board) to immediately cease and desist their unlawful interference with Measure Z.

Submit comments to the Department of Conservation by email to:
or by facsimile (FAX) to (916) 324-0948, or by mail to: 

Department of Conservation
801 K Street, MS 24-02
Sacramento, CA 95814
ATTN: Aquifer Exemption

The written comment period closes at 5 p.m. on February 16, 2017.

Call or write to your elected representatives and the state officials: Urge your elected representatives to contact the state officials listed below to oppose the above exemptions. Write letters to the editors of local media and share on social media. RESIST!

   Elected representatives:                                                               State Officials:

Assemblymember Anna Caballero  
318 Cayuga Street, Suite 206
Salinas, CA 93901
Tel: (831) 759-8676
Fax: (831) 759-2961

Jonathan Bishop
Chief Deputy Director
State Water Resources Control Board
1001 I Street
Sacramento, CA, 95814

Assemblymember Mark Stone
Monterey County District Office:
99 Pacific Street, Ste 575-G
Monterey, CA 93940
Tel: (831) 649-2832
Fax: (831) 649-2935

John Laird, Secretary
California Natural Resources Agency
1416 Ninth Street, Suite 1311
Sacramento, CA 95814

Senator Bill Monning, Senate Majority Leader
Monterey District Office
99 Pacific Street, Suite 575-F
Monterey, CA 93940
Tel: (831) 657-6315
Fax: (831) 657-6320

David Bunn, Director
California Conservation Department
801 K Street, MS 24-01
Sacramento, CA  95814
Tel: (916) 322-1080
Fax: (916) 445-0732

Edmund G. Brown Jr Governor
State of California
c/o State Capitol, Suite 1173
Sacramento, CA 95814

Kenneth A. Harris, Jr.
State Oil and Gas Supervisor
California Department of Conservation
Division of Oil, Gas & Geothermal Resources
801 K Street, MS 18-05
Sacramento, CA 95814-3530


 Download copies of PMC letters to Gov. Jerry Brown and Secretary John Laird for samples. 

Contact the Monterey County Board of Supervisors:

Luis Alejo, District 1
168 West Alisal, 2nd Floor
Salinas, CA  93901
Mary Adams, District 5
Monterey Courthouse
1200 Aguajito Rd., Ste. 1
Monterey, CA  93940
John M. Phillips, District 2
Castro Plaza
11140 Speegle St.
P.O. Box 787
Castroville, CA  95012

Jane Parker, District 4
2616 1st Ave.
Marina, CA  93933
Simon Salinas, District 3
168 W. Alisal, 3rd Floor
Salinas, Ca  93901
Clerk  of the Board
(for all supervisors)



February 09, 2017 at 4pm - 7pm
Pavilion Room, King City Fairgrounds
401 Division St
King City, CA 93930
United States
Google map and directions
Protect Monterey County ·